Solar plants to replace diesel in remote NT communities

Ten 3.325 MW solar photovoltaic (PV) plants have been commissioned in remote Aboriginal communities under the the Solar Energy Transformation Program (SETuP), a $55 million program jointly funded by the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) and the Territory Government, and managed by Power and Water.

Over 10,610 solar panels have been installed to provide an average of 5,000 kWh/h per day to power over 570 households across the ten communities of Arlparra , Kintore, Nyirripi (Waite Creek), Kaltukatjara (Docker River), Mt Liebig, Areyonga, Yuendumu, Lajamanu, Maningrida and Ramingining.

Greenhouse gas emissions from over one million litres of diesel fuel will be saved each year following the integration of the SETuP into the power supply of each community.

Chief Minister Michael Gunner said the SETuP sites would contribute to the Territory Labor Government’s renewable target of 50 per cent renewable energy by 2030, by reducing emissions and creating a platform for greater use of solar in the future.

Subscribe to The Climate Leadership Report

Interested in Local Government news and events?  

Click here to view the Local Government Report.