ANU’s Professor Lambeck wins PM Science Prize

The Australian National University’s Emeritus Professor Kurt Lambeck has been announced as this years recipient of the Prime Minister’s Award for Science, being acknowledged for his lifetime of research into the Earth.

For more than four decades Professor Lambeck has researched the Earth and its remarkable changes over time, with his discoveries leading to accurate planning for space missions, new methods of mineral exploration and an understanding of the impact of sea level changes on human civilization.

"Professor Lambeck has been a pioneer of geophysics, revealing the complexity of Earth's gravitational field and measuring and reporting on the sea level rises that have occurred over the past millions of years. His studies continue to inform policy and lifestyle choices today," ANU Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Mike Calford said.

"ANU is exceptionally proud to have Kurt among our academic cohort where he continues to be a mentor and inspiration to many young, up-and-coming researchers looking to make an equally significant contribution," Professor Calford said.

Professor Lambeck has been with ANU since 1977, has been Director of the Research School of Earth Sciences and President of the Australian Academy of Science. He has published two books and more than 250 papers on geophysics, geology, space science and glaciology.

Subscribe to The Climate Leadership Report

Interested in Local Government news and events?  

Click here to view the Local Government Report.