Independents rally for climate agreement

Seven high profile independent candidates have signed a new leadership agreement, committing to work together in the next federal parliament to further a broad range of policy positions on climate change.

The agreement, brokered by the Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF), will see two incumbent independents, Kerryn Phelps and Andrew Wilkie, as well as five independent candidates work together on a suite of policy positions.

“This election has been marked by the large number of individuals willing to stand-up and have a go at breaking-up the climate dysfunction and denial impeding action to cut Australian climate pollution,” ACF’s CEO Kelly O’Shanassy said.

“Australians, especially young people, are tired of the delay and disruption to strong climate action. They know climate damage is already hurting our communities through record breaking temperatures, unprecedented fires and worsening droughts.

“This election needs to be a turning point for climate action in this country. We urge people to push all candidates in their electorate to commit to strong climate action and to make climate change a priority in choosing who to vote for this election.”

Subscribe to The Climate Leadership Report

Interested in Local Government news and events?  

Click here to view the Local Government Report.